Seven Elements

The Eco-Schools programme is made up of Seven Elements:

Seven Elements diagram

  1. Eco Committee
  2. Environmental Review
  3. Action Plan
  4. Monitoring and Evaluation
  5. Linking to the Curriculum
  6. Involving the Whole School and Wider Community
  7. Eco Code


These Seven Elements are exactly the same in each of the 59 countries that currently participate in the Eco-Schools programme, and are intended to be flexible enough to accommodate any educational system.


The Seven Elements - together with your work on Litter plus your choice of two of the Ten Topics -  form the basis of the Eco-Schools Award scheme.