Skip to main content

Scotland's Beach Awards Criteria

Scotland's Beach Awards Criteria

To gain an award, beaches must meet standards across three areas of Scotland's Beach Awards. These are: Access, Facilities and Safety, Local Environmental Quality, and Communities and Heritage.

Individual criteria points are categorised as ‘major’, ‘minor’ or ‘best practice’. To gain and maintain an award, beaches must:

  • Fulfil the requirements of all Major criteria
  • Have no more than three counts of non-compliance to minor criteria
  • Demonstrate ongoing commitment to improving best practice

Click the boxes below to find out more about the criteria in each area of the award.

Beaches are assessed by a desk assessment and site visit by a trained assesor. We visit sites annually between 1st June – 15th September. Any new entrants to the scheme will receive an additional site visit prior to an award being given.

Are you a local authority, land manager or community group that would like to see your beach recognised with Scotland's Beach Award? Find how to get awarded here.

Keep updated

We support the