Scotland's Beach Awards Criteria

To gain an award, beaches must meet standards across three areas of Scotland's Beach Awards. These are: Access, Facilities and Safety, Local Environmental Quality, and Communities and Heritage.

Individual criteria points are categorised as ‘major’, ‘minor’ or ‘best practice’. To gain and maintain an award, beaches must:

  • Fulfil the requirements of all Major criteria
  • Have no more than three counts of non-compliance to minor criteria
  • Demonstrate ongoing commitment to improving best practice

Click the boxes below to find out more about the criteria in each area of the award.

Beaches are assessed by a desk assessment and site visit by a trained assesor. We visit sites annually between 1st June – 15th September. Any new entrants to the scheme will receive an additional site visit prior to an award being given.

Are you a local authority, land manager or community group that would like to see your beach recognised with Scotland's Beach Award? Find how to get awarded here.

Keep Updated

Get our news delivered straight to your inbox
Your personal information and right to privacy is important to us. It is not our practice to sell, rent or otherwise to disclose your personal information to others. Read our Privacy Notice

Keep Connected

We support the