It’s Your Neighbourhood, unlike its sister initiative Beautiful Scotland, is a non-competitive initiative with more of an emphasis on community participation.

However, certificates are awarded to every group, with five levels of achievement, to encourage and reward progression.

The certificates are as follows:

Level Description
1 Establishing
2 Improving
3 Advancing
4 Thriving
5 Outstanding


In addition, for groups which have consistently grown and improved over the years of taking part, a Certificate of Distinction is available. To be eligible for this, a group must:

  • Have participated in It's Your Neighbourhood for at least four years.
  • Achieved the ‘Outstanding’ level in the current year or moved up at least two levels since first entering.

A Certificate of Recognition is presented to a group wishing to be part of the It's Your Neighbourhood family, gain access to support, resources and recognition, but, for whatever reason, is unable to be visited by one our volunteer assessors.

Keep Updated

Get our news delivered straight to your inbox
Your personal information and right to privacy is important to us. It is not our practice to sell, rent or otherwise to disclose your personal information to others. Read our Privacy Notice

Keep Connected

We support the